Just in: Jega receives new appointment from Buhari


Prof. Attahiru Jega, the former Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), has been named Chairman, Governing Council of the University of Jos by President Muhammadu Buhari.

Malam Adamu Adamu, the Minister of Education, said Buhari also confirmed the appointment and reassignment of Chancellors to 42 federal universities while speaking to press in Abuja on Thursday.
Prof Anthony Anwuka and Udoma Udo Udoma, both former ministers, were also named chairmen of governing bodies.

Udoma will chair the council of Bayero University in Kano, while Anwuka will chair the council of the Federal University of Petroleum Resources in Effurun, Delta State.

Both Udoma and Anwuka were ministers during Buhari’s first term.

Prof Ahmed Mohammed Modibbo of the University of Abuja, Malam Adamu Fika of Ahmadu Bello University Zaria, Dr. Sonny Kuku of the University of Benin, Chief Ikechi Emenike of the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, and Ballama Manu of the University of Maiduguri are the other Chairmen of Councils.

The President also approved the re-constitution of Governing Councils of 23 Federal universities and Inter-University Centres (IUCs) when their tenures expired on May 8, 2021, according to Adamu.

The Chancellors will be introduced to the University Community at an investiture ceremony to be held during the next convocation event, according to the minister.

The investiture will take place before the conferment of degrees at the convocation, he said.

Read also: The NBET Board will hold an emergency meeting to discuss the N7.68 billion budgetary allocation

“In respect to the university, the Chancellor shall have priority over all other members of the institution, and when he is present, shall preside at all convocation meetings held for conferring degrees,” he stated.

HRM Prof James Ortese Iorzua Ayatse, the Tor Tiv (University of Benin), Oba Rufus Adeyemo Adejugbe Aladesanmi III. CON, JP. Ewi of Ado-Ekiti (Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University), Bauchi, Oba Rufus Adeyemo Adejugbe Aladesanmi III. CON, JP. Ewi of Ado- HRM Oba Aremu Gbadebo, Alake of Egbaland, and HM Obi Ofala Nnaemeka Alfred Achebe, Obi of Onitsha (Ahmadu Bello University), Zaria (Alex Ekwueme University, Ndufu-Alike, Ebonyi State).

HRM King W S Joshua Igbugburu X, Con, Ibenanawei of Bomo Kingdom, (Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State), HRM Professor Joseph Chike Edozien. CFR, Asagba of Asaba, (Federal University Gashua, Yobe), HRH Alhaji (Dr.) Mohammadu Abali Ibn Mohammed Idris, CON, Emir of Fika (Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State).

HRH Alhaji Abubakar Shehu Abubakar III, Emir of Gombe (Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike), and HRH Justice Sidi Bage Muhammad 1, Emir of Lafia (Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa), among others.

Get every Post-UTM, Admission, List, JAMB, WAEC, NECO, and Schools Resumption Date, Breaking News on your WhatsApp Status Now - To join, click the links below.
Join Television Nigerian Whatsapp Now
Join Television Nigerian Facebook Now
Join Television Nigerian Twitter Now
Join Television Nigerian YouTUbe Now
Previous article”I’m being attacked because I follow the law,” Onochie says in response to INEC’s nomination.
Next articleThe EFCC has arrested a man for allegedly committing a N2.7 million fraud


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here