The Chairmen of the FCT Council Pledge Their Loyalty to the Minister


The six area council chairmen in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) have sworn their allegiance to Dr Ramatu Tijanni Aliyu, the territory’s Minister of State.

The FCT Administration’s Area Councils Services Secretariat, which is likewise under the minister’s control, has also pledged its full commitment to him.

The chairman of the Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC), Hon. Abdullahi Adamu Candido, who signed on behalf of the council chairmen, said in a joint press statement issued by the six area council chairmen and the FCT Area Council Services Secretariat to debunk media reports that the two were insubordinate to the minister.

Read also: Food security: RIFAN assures Nigerians that rice production will increase

“We are devoted not just to the FCT Minister of State, Dr Ramatu Tijjani Aliyu, but also to our esteemed National Assembly representatives. If we want to deliver democratic dividends to our communities, we can’t work in silos as local council leaders.

Mrs Omolola Olanipekun, the Ag. Secretary of the FCT Area Council Services Secretariat, also slammed the report, claiming that the Area Council and the secretariat were working together to drive the administration’s policies.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here